Africa Theme Week

Africa has a rich culture that children will enjoy learning about. There are 53 countries in Africa, which means the possibilities for learning are unlimited. It is fun to spend time learning about each individual country.


African and Caribbean Celebrations

Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain

We're Going on a Lion Hunt


Africa for Kids: Exploring a Vibrant Continent, 19 Activities

We All Went on Safari

Wangari's Trees of Peace: A True Story from Africa


Mancala Game

African Flags

Khamsa Hand

African Animal Book

Africa Drum

Tribal Masks


Yam and Sweet Potato Stew


Countries of Africa

Algeria (People's Democratic Republic of Algeria)

Angola (Republic of Angola)

Benin (Republic of Benin)

Botswana (Republic of Botswana)

Burkina Faso

Burundi (Republic of Burundi)

Cameroon (Republic of Cameroon)

Cape Verde (Republic of Cape Verde)

Central African Republic (Central African Republic)

Chad (Republic of Chad)

Comoros (Union of the Comoros)

Côte d'Ivoire (Republic of Côte d'Ivoire)

Djibouti (Republic of Djibouti)

Egypt (Arab Republic of Egypt)

Equatorial Guinea (Republic of Equatorial Guinea)

Eritrea (State of Eritrea)

Ethiopia (Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia)

Gabon (Gabonese Republic)

Gambia (Republic of The Gambia)

Ghana (Republic of Ghana)

Guinea (Republic of Guinea)

Guinea-Bissau (Republic of Guinea-Bissau)

Kenya (Republic of Kenya)

Lesotho (Kingdom of Lesotho)

Liberia (Republic of Liberia)

Libya (Great Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya)

Madagascar (Republic of Madagascar)

Malawi (Republic of Malawi)

Mali (Republic of Mali)

Mauritania (Islamic Republic of Mauritania)

Mauritius (Republic of Mauritius)

Morocco (Kingdom of Morocco)

Mozambique (Republic of Mozambique)

Namibia (Republic of Namibia)

Niger (Republic of Niger)

Nigeria (Federal Republic of Nigeria)

Republic of the Congo (Republic of the Congo)

Rwanda (Republic of Rwanda)

Sao Tome and Principe

Senegal (Republic of Senegal)

Seychelles (Republic of Seychelles)

Sierra Leone (Republic of Sierra Leone)

Somalia (Somali Republic)

South Africa (Republic of South Africa)

Sudan (Republic of Sudan)

Swaziland (Kingdom of Swaziland)

Tanzania (United Republic of Tanzania)

Togo (Togolese Republic)

Tunisia (Tunisian Republic)

Uganda (Republic of Uganda)

Western Sahara (Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic)

Zambia (Republic of Zambia)

Zimbabwe (Republic of Zimbabwe) Find more interesting themes for your week